10 days into 2016 – it’s time to take action!

Happy 2016!

The festive season seemed to rush by in such a hurry, I’m a little sorry to see it go.  For the first time, we had both sides of our family at our home for Christmas celebrations over two days, and although it was hectic in the kitchen, it was such a great feeling!  Little tip when you have family celebrations – use disposable plates and cutlery! I’m a tidy green kiwi most of the year, but I tell you – there is nothing better than being able to throw all the plates and cutlery out at the end of the meal.  We actually managed to fit most of the remaining dishes in just one load in the dishwasher – 100% worth it.  The last thing you want to do when you’ve been entertaining for six hours, is sort, rinse and clean dishes.

So we’re getting to the end of our leftover ham, the desserts are definitely all gone, and we’re 10 days into 2016.  It’s time to get back to business.  I’m torn.  Part of me is excited about what’s to come this year (my brain is humming with plans and ideas) and the other part of me is nervous.  Extremely nervous. That part of me wants to stay in my safe zone. Continue “thinking about things” and “planning”.

I read a message today that talked about how often people get stuck in learning mode.  They learn and learn and learn, by watching videos, taking courses, reading books.  But all this learning, and planning and thinking means nothing if you don’t follow through with action.  That’s not to say that we shouldn’t continue to learn always.  Learning is incredibly important, and will be the fuel that helps us to grow.  But taking action from what we’ve learnt will be the moment when we actually grow.

“It had long since come to my attention that people of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things.”
Leonardo Da Vinci

So what do we need in order to take action?  Just a spoonful of sugar? Not quite.  We need to take a leap of faith.  Embrace vulnerability.  Step into the arena. Start taking action.  By taking action, we’re heading along the path of unknown, whilst getting closer and closer to reaching our goals.

I’ve been watching a video by Brené Brown this evening on Embracing Vulnerability, hoping to instill some confidence in myself to start taking action.  She hits home with me when she says we view vulnerability as a dark emotion, as the core of fear, shame, disappointment, uncertainty – things we do not want to feel.  I can relate to this.  But she goes on to say that it is the birthplace of love, belonging, innovation, creativity, change.  To be innovative, to produce something no one has seen before, and present it to a bunch of people who may just hate it, think it’s ridiculous or not understand it.  That’s vulnerability.  You need to get past those feelings, in order to create that innovative masterpiece.

Over the past six months I’ve begun to truly understand what vulnerability means.  It used to be one of those words that I would use based on the literal meaning from the dictionary, but never actually understand what I am talking about.  One of those words I would use with a smile on my face, and hope that no one notices the tell-tale signs that I haven’t a clue what I’m talking about.  Starting this blog was a step of me accepting the need to be vulnerable.  It was outside my safe zone.  I feared what people might think of my writing, and more importantly me as a person.  But it was an opportunity for creativity.  For me to express myself through words.  To encourage and enthuse those who wished to read the topics I wrote about.  I’m so glad I decided to take action and start.

Tonight I’m writing a list of actions to take in 2016.  And I’m going to start taking them tomorrow.  Because perhaps people may hate my ideas, they may not understand, and they may think it’s ridiculous.  But I’m never going to know either way if I don’t take a leap of faith.  What matters most to me is that I use the learning fuel I have stored up and grow this year.

Leave a Reply

