Why I need to stop buying convenience food

Sometimes I have days where everything is just going so well, that I decide to treat myself. With snacks, or a hot chocolate, or takeaways. But it always seems to escalate, and next thing you know I’ve spent $30 on food in one day. Today has been one of those days. I had taken my lunch to work, but for some reason, it came to lunchtime and I was off to the local bakery for a chicken and avocado bun and an apple cinnamon muffin. It was like an unconscious decision was made. My legs were walking there before my brain had caught up and realised where we were going. My packed lunch sat forgotten in my bag. Then somehow I continued on this spending streak, and picked up some Tom & Luke Salted Caramel Protein Balls – which by the way, I don’t even like salted caramel – so I spent $3.50 on a snack that I then shared around the lunch table. Later on I decided I needed to buy a drink, because water from the tap wasn’t good enough, I needed Vitamin Water. Not ideal for my bank account. I mean it’s not a massive dent, but $20 each day soon adds up to a significant amount.

So after dinner tonight, determined to not be buying food tomorrow, I packed the leftover dinner into a container, and I whipped up a batch of these Raw ANZAC Balls. They are amaze-balls! See what I did there? Funny right haha. I substituted the Maple Syrup in the recipe for Rice Malt Syrup, and literally the mixture took me five minutes to make. It took longer rolling them into balls!

What I like most about this recipe is the fact that it’s a healthy remix of the classic ANZAC cookie. But without the masses of butter and sugar. And a fraction of the preparation time. Great timing as we head into celebrating ANZAC Day in NZ next Monday.

Why not have a go at making them and let me know what you think. Or even better, share your favourite treat recipes in the comments below!

Raw ANZAC Balls (makes approx 24 balls)

Ingredients:

1 cup oats

1/2 cup coconut

1/2 cup almonds

1/2 cup cashew nuts

1/3 cup rice malt syrup

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 tbsp melted coconut oil

1 tbsp water

Method:

Place the dry ingredients in a food processor and process until a powder is formed

Transfer to a bowl and add all other ingredients. Mix until a dough is formed

Roll into balls and chill

Will keep in a fridge for up to 2 weeks

(Original recipe from Alison’s Pantry)

Leave a Reply

