Kiwi Mummy Blogs Review – My Fun Box

I’ve always loved being creative, so when I was asked to do a review of a My Fun Box and it turned out to be the Arty Crafty Box, I was pretty excited. In a nutshell, My Fun Box is three projects in one box, delivered to your door. The Arty Crafty Box had everything you needed for the projects down to a plastic cup for your water, popsicle sticks for mixing, card to stop paint spreading. Some boxes you might need a few extra bits and pieces, but if you don’t already have an abundance of craft supplies, this is the perfect way for you to do three different activities without needing to buy anything else.

The Arty Craft Box consisted of three projects:
– Stained Glass Art
– Stencil Pillow Case
– Greeting Cards

13866810_10153790359418857_1976741324_n

Each activity came with clear instructions and you can also check out the handy how-to video online for more information. Crafts have been present in our household for quite some time now, so my three-year old was definitely keen to get stuck in and have a go. Of the three activities, her favourite was definitely the Stained Glass Art. Perhaps the potential to be a little messy, but I’m okay with that – we love messy play in our house. There was nothing in this project she couldn’t do herself, if anything I had to refrain from ‘helping’ because I wanted to join in too!

It was a really cool idea, something we hadn’t tried before, and probably not something I would have thought to do myself. The PVA glue and food colouring were small bottles, perfect for her hand size. It was an activity that couldn’t really go wrong, so it was easy to just let her mix and spread the colours however she liked.

13884432_10153790359428857_1605821703_n

The Stencil Pillowcase was probably the one she needed the most help with. She wanted a moon and stars on her pillow, so I had to spend time cutting them out. She also found it a little tricky pressing down the spray paint with her pudgy little fingers, but she still loved the end result. Greeting cards are also always a hit, we spent the majority of December making homemade cards for Christmas, so got stuck into it straight away.

13883754_10153790359423857_1031140616_n

I did a little looking into how to buy My Fun Box projects, and there are a couple different options. You can sign up for a monthly subscription to receive a box each month, or there are one-off boxes available too. Prices range from $19 – $59 per month, or $44.95 for a one-off box. You can trial My Fun Box for $19 also. So for a standard box of three projects it works out to be roughly $15 per project.

I love the concept and the range of boxes available. From magic tricks, to science experiments, baking to growing seeds, robots to lanterns. There is something that is sure to excite any kid. If you’re going to make the conscious effort to move away from the iPad and spend more time creating, a monthly subscription works great. I think it’d be a treat to receive the My Fun Box on your doorstep each month, and kids would love the surprise of what’s inside each month.

To check out My Fun Box head over to their website, or check them out on Facebook and Instagram.

Disclosure: This post is sponsored by My Fun Box. I received a free sample of the product mentioned. All opinions are my own.

One thought on “Kiwi Mummy Blogs Review – My Fun Box

Leave a Reply

