The Ultimate Snickerdoodles for “Bring a Plate” Dates

Before kids, whenever I needed to take home baking somewhere (it happened every now and again as a Brownie Leader), my go-to was pikelets. I know, I know. Plain Jane/Simple Steve, not exciting at all. But it was quick, easy, and required minimal ingredients. Because normally I would procrastinate, then leave the task to the last minute, that last minute being when our pantry is very nearly bare.

A few years on however, my time management has improved slightly, my baking ventures have become a wee bit more interesting, and I have a new go-to. A little note – this isn’t my recipe for shared lunches at daycare, this has way too much sugar in it than I can bear to send to daycare, and I prefer to go with something healthier. But this is my adults shared plate. We visited friends last week, and this is what I took along to share with my Mummy friend.

I’ve got a couple of Snickerdoodle recipes on my Not-So-Healthy Pinterest board, but I found this one in one of my cookbooks and it’s my favourite because it’s simple, quick and super yummy! I have halved the recipe, to attempt to avoid overindulging since they’re so easy to eat.

Ingredients
  • ½ cup butter (softened)
  • ¾ cups sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 ⅓ cups flour
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
Instructions
  • Cream together sugar and butter. Add the egg and combine well.
  • In a separate bowl, mix the remaining dry ingredients together.
  • Combine ingredients and mix well.
  • It won’t necessarily be a combined dough, but when you shape dough into 1 inch balls they will stick together well.
  • Combine the second measure of sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.
  • Roll the balls in the sugar-cinnamon mixture and place approximately 2 inches apart on a baking tray.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes at 180°C.

Sorry to say the image above isn’t my cookies… I snapchatted them while they were in the oven, then they were eaten faster than I could get my camera out. So photo credit is My IGA.

Check out my Snapchat for other home baking, kids activities, and fun times in our house: amymc1ean

3 thoughts on “The Ultimate Snickerdoodles for “Bring a Plate” Dates

  1. Agh these look delicious! I hate walking in to someone’s house with the biscuits you know were just picked up from the supermarket in a mad dash! It is nice to say look what I made! Will definitely print this recipe out and give it a try. And I love easy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

